The singular ‘they’

I love singular ‘they’. Back in 2016, the American Dialect Society named it word of the year. And we all use it all the time. But that’s not why I’m so excited about it right now. I’m excited because it can help researchers, particularly if they’re working with qualitative data and thus with very small […]

via The bonuses of singular ‘they’: anonymity and bias avoidance — Everyday linguistic anthropology

I’ve used the singular they in speech for as long as I can remember. Every once in a rare while, I feel as if I’m being a bit ambiguous or that I might sound professorial/literary – but saying “one might often think one’s mind is set on a topic” sounds much sillier. And Using ‘you’ has occasional unintended consequences: a reader might feel attacked, or if they aren’t actually someone who can empathize with the generic you, they might feel even more distanced from the topic. I have been having a very hard time with why some people have such a hard time with other people wanting to take the singular they and use it as a personal pronoun. It’s already used!

Anyway, neat blog for other good reasons for the use of the singular ‘they’ to keep propagating and become even more common.

Tags: , ,

About amusedreams

Semi-Geek, Bibliophile, Cat Person. I post about life stuff. Music, books, food, wine, CHOCOLATE, and geek stuff.

Leave a Reply

