Halloween (not so Scary) Movies

I’m not actually much of a horror film buff. I’ve seen some, but in general, I don’t like horror films. I will read the occasional horror book (I read Stephen King, so of course, I have read quite a few of the classics like Carrie, Christine, and others. But those aren’t my favorites he’s written.)

So, when I compile movies and specials to watch over Halloween, it looks more like a Family Channel line up than anything else. Paranormal, Saw, and many current gore/horror combos are definitely out. Quite a few are older, and more than a little silly.

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas
  2. Hocus Pocus
  3. A Disney Halloween (includes A Night on Bald Mountain, and the Skeleton Dance: link is YouTube copy of special)
  4. Topper
  5. Young Frankenstein
  6. Clue
  7. The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad
  8. Sleepy Hollow
  9. several Bugs Bunny specials (especially fond of the vampire in Transylvania 6-5000, Witch Hazel, the creepy mad scientist (somewhat like Dr Frankenstein and Igor combined as I recall, although there was an Igor also) and the monster who calls Bugs George)
  10. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
  11. The Illusionist
  12. The Prestige
  13. The Abyss*
  14. The Thing
  15. ParaNorman
  16. Arsenic and Old Lace
  17. The Ghost and Mrs. Muir

* The Abyss is … honestly, more of a sci-fi movie. But I always get so interested and involved that I have my heart in my throat and sob, every time. Technically, the Thing is also scary and more sci-fi, but in some ways it’s even more classically scary. Similarly, I could include Alien and Predator based on those criteria, but I feel they’re less psychological and more true alien and other. Quite a few of the above have funny moments. But I’m still including them. The Illusionist and The Prestige are creepy psychologically, and also about magic. But then have a certain thrill to them.

I’m sure I’m forgetting some that I would love to watch around Halloween, but 17 isn’t too shabby a list.

Tags: , ,

About amusedreams

Semi-Geek, Bibliophile, Cat Person. I post about life stuff. Music, books, food, wine, CHOCOLATE, and geek stuff.

2 responses to “Halloween (not so Scary) Movies”

  1. fontfolly says :

    I was planning a very similar blog post for later this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Just call me Mr. Chicken | Font Folly - October 26, 2015

Leave a Reply

