Dreams

The last 3 to 5 days have been odder than usual for dreams.

I had a very vivid dream about being at a friend’s house with my sister. It was a writer’s night type situation, but for some reason it was implied we were staying the night. My sister and I were helping him tidy the kitchen after folks had eaten and before moving onto writing and art projects. His husband was going back and forth with dishes before being dragged out to work on a computer for another attendee. None of that was the weird stuff. Although I haven’t been to a writer’s night in much longer than I like to think about, those were all logical activities to a varying degree. The weird part was the actual house and kitchen. It was an enormous log cabin. Think Beorn’s home, in the second recent Hobbit movie.

The kitchen was where most of the dream occurred. There were counters along the exterior of the room, except for where archways and doors existed, and several long tables in the center of the room. They were covered with things. Dishes with casseroles, plates to be cleaned, and assorted clutter that everyone acquires in their home, including some new gadgets, one of which was a coffee maker. And I think I’ve just realized that might be what triggered the dream. The coffee maker. But the amount of detail buried in it and the sheer size of the fantastical home (which my friends definitely deserve but that does not resemble their actual home at all) was staggering.

Another night had me revisiting a friend I haven’t talked to in over a year. He’s had some health issues, and I peeked at his Facebook profile to see if he had updated recently. Which was triggered by someone else posting their wedding photos upon the event of their anniversary, and seeing him in them. I don’t entirely remember what we were doing other than I was in his general area of the United States and visiting. At the time, the dream was vivid enough to wake me up and make me frown, but it hasn’t stuck as badly as the previous dream (probably because I knew immediately why I was dreaming of HIM, whereas I couldn’t figure out the logic for the older dream, so have been picking at it in my subconscious).

And then this morning, I had a dream that my sister had arrived several days early. Actually about a week early. And she was planning on working remotely for the next week. Our house had grown in size and she was chatting about if she could do any chores while I was at work for me. Again, semi-logical, except that my house doesn’t look like that, she can’t work remotely for an entire week, and the detail was staggering. In that case, I think I just want her here faster.

I just wish I felt rested after these dreams, but it always feels like my brain is exerting so much energy in the minutiae of the set dressing that I feel mentally exhausted upon waking. Since I’m in a particularly uneven sleep cycle right now, that is not helpful. Some of it is probably seasonal. I have a love/hate relationship with fall and the holiday seasons, and the stores are already pushing Halloween and I’ve seen some Christmas online. Some of it is just that my body resents being diurnal and occasionally pushes back at me trying to function the way the majority of our culture functions.

I would just like a good solid 6 hours of dreamless sleep. Soon. Hopefully.

Tags: , ,

About amusedreams

Semi-Geek, Bibliophile, Cat Person. I post about life stuff. Music, books, food, wine, CHOCOLATE, and geek stuff.

Leave a Reply

