Blue Funk: Defined

The other day, a person on twitter (who I consider a friend of sorts, although we actually don’t know each other exceedingly well), mentioned a feeling of despondency that he wished wasn’t around. (Paraphrasing to protect the gentleman.)

And I thought: Oh, yes, that. That is what I’ve had lately. I’m not depressed, or sad, or lost in a blue funk of ambiguous nature, I’m despondent. What a good word.

And then I thought: I should look that up later, and make sure it means what I think it means.

It’s a little different, but kind of close. According to the American English dictionary in my computer:

despondency |diˈspändənsē|
noun
a state of low spirits caused by loss of hope or courage: he hinted at his own deep despondency.

The British English dictionary in my computer is only slightly different:

despondency |dɪˈspɒnd(ə)nsi|
noun [ mass noun ]
low spirits from loss of hope or courage; dejection: an air of despondency.

The interesting thing is, it’s actually even closer to accurate now that I see the definitions. I do have low spirits. They are from a loss of hope or courage. I’m fairly dejected and disappointed in myself. I’ll make little half-hearted gestures that attempt to solve the situation I’m hopeless and fearful about, but I haven’t actually attacked the problem thoroughly, because I feel defeated already, so why bother? (I empathize strongly with Eeyore.)

Having a good solid word to hang onto about the mood perked me up for a moment and is actually very satisfying, but it won’t help solve the problem.

It does provide an amusing distraction, at least, for a few moments.

Tags: , ,

About amusedreams

Semi-Geek, Bibliophile, Cat Person. I post about life stuff. Music, books, food, wine, CHOCOLATE, and geek stuff.

Leave a Reply

